The Double Review

Source: Goodreads

Author: Fyodor Dostoyevsky.

Published: 30th Janurary, 1846.

Rating: 4/10.


This was my first Russian novel and I really wanted to love it. The premise of the doppelgänger is really interesting and I so wanted to enjoy it, but alas ’twas not to be.

The story tells the tale of a man who meets a man who has the same name and appearance as him and soon his counterpart takes his life over. It’s a interesting premiss but the execution was really poor. I didn’t enjoy the dialogue or prose or the main character. It was just very confusing. The main character kept babbling and the dialogue was clunky. Golyadkin, the protagonist, kept throwing in the names of people he was talking to which was arduous. His inner thoughts were also hard to discern. He was an unlikable character so I was really compelled into the story.

The movie adaptation inspired by this novel, The Double (2013) was brilliant and I enjoyed it. Also, Poe’s treatment of the theme of the Doppelgänger in William Wilson (1839) is well written and interesting. It’s also executed much better in the form of a short story.

So probably just a poor execution unfortunately… cause I just wanted to love it! Haha

One comment on “The Double Review

  1. woolflock says:

    I’ve not read this one yet, but I definitely must check it out. I’ve read ‘Crime and Punishment’ (which I can’t recommend more highly; I loved it) and ‘Memoirs from the House of the Dead’, the latter of which is semi-autobiographical from Dostoevsky’s own time in prison. It isn’t hand-on-mouth in terms of plot, but still a very interesting read. I’d definitely recommend ‘Crime and Punishment’ as your next foray into Russian literature. 🙂

    I like you how brought up Poe’s ‘William Wilson’; I’d really love to read Dostoevsky’s treatment of the doppelgänger and compare it with Poe. 🙂

Leave a Reply

