Top 5 Favourite Authors

I’ve read a lot of authors over the years. Some I’ve loved, obsessed over and then hated. Others I’ve continued to enjoy. I have read some books by certain authors that have blown me away while been disappointed after having read another of their books. But this is a list of the authors who I’ve read multiple books by and who I’ve stuck with.

5. Agatha Christie.

Source: Fanpop

Works read:

  • Murder on the Orient Express (1934).
  • Death on the Nile (1937).

I’ve only read two of Christie’s novels so far, but I adore her books. One of the greatest detective writers ever. She creates suspense, drama and has brilliant plot twists. I also enjoy the exotic settings of some of her works. Death on the Nile (1937) is a personal favourite of mine with it’s depiction of Egypt and the Nile river.

4. Edgar Allen Poe.

Works read:

  • Berenice (1835).
  • William Wilson (1839).
  • Fall of the House of Usher (1839).
  • The Pit and the Pendulum (1839).
  • The Man of the Crowd (1840).
  • The Black Cat (1842).
  • The Tell-Tale Heart (1843).
  • The Raven (1844).
  • The Premature Burial (1844).
  • The Cask of Amontillado (1846).

The father of horror and the supernatural. All of his works are compelling and eerie. He’s probably my most read author. What’s impressive is his use of language. He’s able to capture shock and decay with so few words. His stories are also quite short which makes for an easy read. It also reflects his power as a writer. My favourites are The Tell-Tale Heart (1843) & Fall of the House of Usher (1839) because they’re both psychologically and physically horrific.

3. J.R.R. Tolkien.

Source: NNDB

Works read:

  • The Hobbit (1937).

I know I’ve only read one novel by him but the LOTR is literally next on my list to read. His world building is immense and incomparable to anyone else. He literally spent years developing it, and you can tell. His books are just filled with intricate details and there’s a great blend of drama, action and memorable characters. I can’t wait to get into LOTR.

2. J.K. Rowling.

Source: Hypable

Works read:

  • Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (1997).
  • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (1998).
  • Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (1999).
  • Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2000).
  • Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (2001).
  • Quidditch Through the Ages (2001).
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2003).
  • Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince (2005).
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (2007).
  • The Tales of Beedle the Bard (2008).

What can I say? One of the greatest writers & one that defined a generation. She gave us a ten year journey that we’ll always remember. Her colourful cast of characters, plots, settings, spells entertained and emotionally crushed us. Thank you J.K. Rowling.

1. David Mitchell. 

Source: Mashable

Works read:

  • Ghostwritten (1999).
  • Cloud Atlas (2004).
  • The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet (2010).
  • The Bone Clocks (2014).

I was blown away when I read Cloud Atlas (2004) and I knew this was a writer I had to read more of. It wasn’t long until I was hooked on his books. I adore Mitchell’s blend of genres and non-linear storylines. He always uses a colourful cast of characters and includes a slight fantasy/ sci-fi tone in each of his novels which I enjoy. I also like his social/ political/ philosophical commentary that he injects into his novels because I’m a sucker for existentialism. Cloud Atlas (2004) remains my outright favourite because it jumps between genres and time periods. I’m looking forward to Slade House (2015), set to be released towards the end of this year as well as his other books: number9dream (2001) & Black Swan Green (2006).

3 comments on “Top 5 Favourite Authors

  1. David Mitchell is a genius. His fiction continuously astounds, and I can’t wait for his newest this Oct. Look forward to Black Swan Green! It’s amazing. Either way, thanks for sharing!

    If you’re ever interested in some other great book reviews and musings, be sure to follow! Thanks!

  2. Looks like we have very similar tastes : )

Leave a Reply

