Glandular Fever

getwell

I realised last night that I had glandular fever. It started off as a sore throat around Monday evening, and I was hoping against hope that it wasn’t glandular fever. Turned out to be exactly that when my glands started swelling up and I got a really high fever. 😦

This is the second time I’ve had glandular fever. For anyone that doesn’t know, it’s a virus that’s transmitting through kissing. So I know EXACTLY who I got it off, which makes it all the more frustrating. The thing is, since it’s a virus, there’s no cure and you just have to let it pass through your system. You’re still infected for weeks but the symptoms usually go away after a week or so.

Just so you know, I’m never really bothered by illnesses like colds or whatever. I just pass them off and get on with my daily routine. When I was in school I never took days off when I was sick, I was that stubborn. The reason for that was because whenever I was forced to stay at home, I would miss something massive or the class would move onto a new topic and when I came back I would have no idea what was going on. Seriously, the EXACT day I was out sick, something new are exciting would happen. It pissed me off so much that I would try to go to school even if I was sick. It sounds like the opposite of every child’s dream! :L And there are people who get a cold and they play the martyr and think it’s the end of the world!

But anyway, I digress, I don’t pay any attention if I get sick.  That’s how you know I’m being serious when I say Glandular Fever is an awful ailment. Literally the first time I got it (a year ago), my whole throat closed up and it was sore to eat, drink or swallow. The fever kept me awake at night and I was delusional with the fever. My muscles and joints were in such pain I couldn’t move out of the bed. And this is coming from someone who went to school sick. It’s a God awful sickness, and I wouldn’t wish it on my worst enemy. Thank God though for paracetamol!

The thing is, you want to seek revenge on the person that has given it to you. I sure want to anyway. Just be careful who you go around kissing. I paid the price for being negligent!

Leave a Reply

