Coincidences

I just thought I’d write a little post about something coincidental that happened to me recently. You’ll probably be thinking “slow day at the office” but I felt like writing something short and light- hearted. So what harm?

Anyway, so because it’s winter and it’s Ireland people light fires for warmth and comfort, etc. It’s nice to sit by it and watch TV or a movie. I have a fire in my house and I love it. But an unfortunate thing about a fire is hot sparks flying out of the fire. They can burn material or even people’s skin. And that’s exactly what happened to me.

Just to put it into context, years ago when I was a child, maybe around 10 or something, a piece of hot coal or a stone flew out of the fire and landed on my neck. It burned my skin and left a mark there. It healed obviously, but there is still a small bit of uneven skin if you look closely. It hurt like hell but I got over it. I had forgotten all about that experience. That was until the incident last week.

So I was lying down on the couch, watching tv and there was a bang from the fire. Scared the Jesus out of me but it was grand. That was until I felt this searing pain on my neck. I leapt up off the couch and shook my clothes and a hot piece of coal landed on the ground. It had landed on my neck and burned the skin. It was agonizing. The thing is, the hot coal had landed literally centimetres from where I had been burnt a decade beforehand. So after this heals I will have two scars of uneven skin really close. What are the odds like? Getting burnt in almost the exact same spot? I’m just hoping this doesn’t become a pattern!

Leave a Reply

