Guardians of The Galaxy

18b149286ca6f2920e017bd5d2ffcbf5

Guardians of The Galaxy (2014) was one of the outstanding films of 2014 for me. It was a surprise how much I enjoyed it. It really impressed me. I’m not a massive fan of comic adaptations nowadays (besides Christopher Nolan’s Batman), I was when I was a child, or even action movies as a whole. But this movie was really impressive. It was a perfect blend of sci-fi and fantasy while being humorous. It didn’t take itself too seriously but was obviously well made. I loved all the different races of people interacting and different galaxies coming together. It was like a light hearted Star Wars.

There is a colourful cast of main characters which includes a half human/ half alien, an alien assassin, a tree-like creature who’s partner in crime is a smart mouthed engineered raccoon and also a alien guy who’s seeking revenge. The protagonist is played by Chris Pratt, who I knew from Parks & Recreation. I love that guy in Parks & Rec. He just makes me laugh. Whatever he does, even if it’s insignificant, I find humorous. In this film, it’s the same. He still has that funny demeanour and you know he’s going to do something funny just by watching him.

The cinematography is brilliant. I love the special effects and the world building is deeply impressive. I love all the sci fi equipment like the weaponry and airships amid the planetary backdrop.

What I deeply enjoyed was the soundtrack. It’s made up of mostly 60’s and 70’s songs. I felt that this made it much more impressive than using contemporary songs. By using these songs, you could tell that this movie was made by serious people who really knew their stuff. It really gave it a retrospective feeling. At the moment, I’m really loving 70’s music and 70’s sounding songs so this came at a good time for me! My personal favourites were 10cc’s “I’m Not In Love” and Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell’s “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough.”

All in all, a great movie that didn’t take itself too seriously but was really impressive and was surprisingly enjoyable. Hats off!

Leave a Reply

