The Search for a Lost Cinema

As part of the Digital Media module, we had to do a group project. The group project included creating a Wiki page for a chosen topic. We were put into groups and given a topic. Ours was on The Ritz Cinema/ The City Theatre.

I’ve lived in Limerick my whole life but I had never heard of either of these establishments. They were way before my time! So I had to do a bit of research beforehand in order to get some details on it.

When we had to go visit the former site, none of really had an idea where it was. When we looked it up, we found out that it was now where Shannon Furniture is located. I was so surprised by this as I pass it nearly everyday and it’s right across form my old Secondary School.

Anyway, we agreed to meet up in town and then walk up to the location. When I got there I noticed that the old building shape hadn’t been changed much from when it was the cinema/theatre. We took pictures of the building and stood in front of it. It was a bit weird because I felt like a tourist posing in front of random buildings in my own home town.

It was quite interesting looking at the present site of a former cinema. Personally, I had been inside the furniture store a countless number of times as a child. Thinking back on it, the store did always had a very odd interior structure for a store. It seemed quite open and large and there used to be a large room in the back that had a resemblance to an auditorium or theatre hall. I guess it all finally makes sense now!

 

The location of the former Ritz Cinema/ City Theatre.

Leave a Reply

