12 Stages of Heartache

I have compiled this playlist of Florence + The Machine songs/covers to get through the grieving stages. Why 12? I don’t know, that’s just the number I got to. Here they are: 

 

1. Love – Bedroom Hymns. 

“This is his body, this is his love. Such selfish prayers and I can’t get enough.”

 

2. Anger – Howl.

“I hunt for you with bloody feet across the hallowed ground.”

 

3. Lust – Drumming Song.

“Louder than sirens, louder than bells. Sweeter than heaven and hotter than hell.”

 

4. Alcohol – Hurricane Drunk. 

“I’m going out. I’m gonna drink myself to death.”

 

5. Longing – Over The Love.

“Everybody see I love him.”

 

6. Sadness – Cosmic Love.

” The stars, the moon, they have all been blown out. You’ve left me in the dark.”

 

7. Pain – Heavy In Your Arms.

“He took me to the river where he slowly let me drown.”

 

8. Emptiness – Sweet Nothing. 

“There is a hollow in me now.// You’re giving me such sweet nothing.”

 

9. Truth – No Light, No Light.

“No light, no light in your bright blue eyes. I never knew daylight could be so violent.”

 

10. Acceptance – Never Let Me Go.

“A thousand miles down to the seabed, found a place to rest my head.”

 

11. Healing – Take Care.

“I know you’ve been hurt by someone else.//I’ll take care of you.//Cause I’ve loved and I’ve lost.” 

 

12. Moving On – Shake It Out.

“And I am done with my graceless heart, so tonight I’m going to cut it out and then restart.”

 

Leave a Reply

